Nepali Language (Nepal)English (United Kingdom)

Method of examination of patient

Article Index
Method of examination of patient
Nadi Pariksha: Pulse examination
Tissue Vitality (sara
All Pages

In Ayurveda, various methods are described to investigate the disease and examine the patients. They include three fold examination, eight fold examination and ten fold examination which cover the general examination of patient and tongue, pulse, voice, eye etc which provide the nature of aliments. Moreover, body constitution, pathological state, tissue vitality, physical build, body measurement, etc are also examined.

a) Three fold examination:
1. Darshana (Visual observation)
2. Sparshana (Tactile perception)
3. Prashna (Questioning)

b) Eight fold examination:
1. Nadi pariksha (Examination of the pulse)
2. Jiva pariksha (Examination of the tongue)
3. Mutra pariksha (Examination of Urine)
4. Mala pariksha (Examination of Stool)
5. Voice pariksha (Examination of Shabda)
6. Sparsha pariksha (Examination of Skin)
7. Drika pariksha (Examination of Vision)
8. Akarti pariksha (Examination of General appearance)

c)Ten fold examination:
1. Body Constitution (prakriti)
2 Pathological State (vikriti)
3 Tissue Vitality (sara)
4. Physical Build (samhanana)
5. Body Measurement (pramana)
6. Adaptibility (satmya)
7. Psychic Constitution (sattwa)
8. Digestive Capacity (ahara sakti)
9. Capacity for Exercise (vyayama shakti)
10. Age (vaya)


Ayurveda Blog