ааAbout Ayurvedaааааааааааааа
ааHistory of Ayurveda
ааPresent Situation
ааGovernment's Plan
ааScope of Ayurveda
а Ayurveda Specialitiesааааа
а Ayurveda Institutesааааааа
ааAyurveda Hospitalsаааааа
ааADANаа ааааааааааааааааааааааааа
ааNAMCаа аааааааааааааааааааааааа
ааNAMSSаа аааааааааааааааааааааааа
ааNGOs & INGOsаааааааааа
ааAyurveda Booksаааааааа
ааArticles аааааааааааааааааааа
ааDiscussion Forumаааааааа



[A] [B] [C] [D] [E] [F][G] [H] [I] [J] [K] [L] [M]
N] [O] [P] [R] [S] [T] [U] [V] [Y]

Aap: Water element.

Abhyanga: oil masssage.

Agni: digestive fire, synonymous with properly balanced cell metabolism in Western medicine.

Akasha: Ether or space.

Alochaka pitta: Form of pitta governing vision.

Ama: residual impurities deposited in the cells as the result of improper digestion. Also mental ama, impure or negative thoughts and moods.


Annamaya kosha: Physical or gross body.

Apana vayu: Downward moving vayu.

Arishta: Symptom suggestive of death.

Artava: Menstrual Blood.

Artavaha srotas : Menstrual channels.

Asana: Posture, third stage of yoga.

Asthi: Bone.

Avalambaka Kapha: Form of Kapha in chest.

Avasthapaka: Primary phase of digestion.

Basti : enema

Bhasma: Residue after incineration

Bhutagni : digestive fire governing element.

Charak: Great Ayurvedic profounder who has written one of the classic Ayurvedic text Charak Samhita.

Charaka samhita: One of the oldest Ayurvedic text

Churna: Powder of medicine

Chyavanprash: A formualtion based on honey, amla and other 45 ingredients.

Dhatu: one of the body's seven basic constituents

Dinacharya: daily routine

Dosha: three basic metabolic principles connecting the mind and body and biological humour.

Dosha vaishmya: pathological condition of dosha

Emetic: Medicine that produces vomiting

Fomentation: Treatment by warm and moist application to skin

Gout: Metabolic disease marked by acute arthritis and inflammation of the joints

Grahani : Chronic diarrhoea, malabsorption syndrome in the small intestine

Gulma : Any tumor, lump or diverticulosis

Guna: fundamental natural quality (e.g., dry, moist, hot, cold, etc.). Also applied to sattva, rajas, and tamas, the "three gunas"

Guru: type of attribute, heavy, spiritual teacher, Grishma, Summer, Teacher

Halasana : Plough posture

Hath Yoga : Yoga of physical postures

Hemant: Early winter

Hima : Type of attribute, cold

Jala neti : Yogic cleansing of nasal passages by water

Jatharagni : Digestive fire, responsible for the digestion and transformation of food material

Kapalabhati: Kriya and pranayama that cleanses respiratory tract

Kapha:the dosha responsible for bodily structure

Kathina: Type of attribute, hard

Katu: Pungent or spicy

Khara: Type of attribute, rough to touch

Kleda: Subtle waste product

Kledaka kapha: form of kapha governing digestion

Kundalini: Potential energy lying dormant at the base of the spine.

Laghu: type of attribute, light

Langhana: fasting, reducing therapy

Mahabhuta: Basic five elements (space, air, fire, water and earth)

Mahamarma: One of the three major marma

Majja: Nerve tissue and bone marrow

Mala: Metabolic end-products

Mamsadhatu: Muscle tissue

Manda: Type of attribute, slow pachaka pitta, form of pitt chakra

Mandagni: Diminished digestive capacity

Mantra: Sacred sounds

Marma: A junction point between consciousness and matter or weak Vital points.

Mayurasana: Yoga posture like peacock

Meda: Fat tissue

Mridu: Type of attribute, soft

Mutra: Urine

Mutravaha srotas: Urinary system

Nadi pariksha: Pulse examination

Nadi vigyana: Pulse diagnosis

Nasya: Nasal administration of therapy

Nauli: Action like pitching of boat in stormy sea

Nidana: Etiological factor or diagnosis of disease

Nidana panchaka: Five ways to diagnose a disease

Nirama: Without ama or toxic substance

Ojas: The purest expression of metabolism; the final end product of correct digestion and assimilation of food

Panchakrama: The five cleansing (purification) methods to get rid of excess Doshas.

Parpati: medicinal preperation of sulphur and mercury

Pitta: the dosha responsible for metabolism (closely identified with agni, the body's vital heat)

Poorvakarma: Procedures done prior

Pradhana: main, prominent

Pragya aparadh: the "mistake of the intellect" (i.e., identifying with the part and losing the whole)

Prakriti: primal nature, natural state, constitution

Prana: It is vital energy (life-energy) which activates the body and mind. Prana is responsible for the higher cerebral functions, the motor and sensory activities. The prana located in the head is the vital prana, while prana which is present in the cosmic air is nutrient prana. There is a constant exchange of energy between vital prana and nutrient prana through respiration. During inspiration, the nutrient prana enters the system and nourishes the vital prana. During expiration, subtle waste products are expelled.

Pranavaha srotas: respiratory system

Pranayama : respiratory exercise, also called "balanced breathing"

Prashama: alliviation of dosha

Prithvi: element earth

Purisha: stool, faeces

Rajas: the intermediate principle of energy among the three qualities of nature

Rajasic: having the nature of Rajas (Kings)

Raktadhatu: blood

Raktamokshana: blood-letting (type of panchakarma)

Ranjaka pitta: form of pitta colouring the blood

Rasa: plasma, taste

Rasayana: Traditional Ayurvedic herbal or mineral preparation for longivity and rejuvenation

Ritucharya: seasonal behaviour

Roga: disease

Roopa: symptom

Sadhaka pitta: type of pitta governing the brain

Sama: with ama or toxins

Samana vata: equalising form of five vata types

Samprapti: pathogenes

Samsarga: duel vitiation of dosha.

Shishir: winter

Shita: type of attribute, cold

Shleshaka: form of kapha

Shleshaka: form of kapha lubricating joints

Shodhana: purification, detoxification

Shukra: reproductive tissue

Snehan: fomentation

Snehana: oleation therapy

Sthana saushraya: localisation, stage of pathogenesis

Sushruta: author of Sushruta Samhita, ancient Ayurvedic surgeon

Sweda: sweat

Swedavaha srotas: system for sweat

Tamaka shwasa: bronchial asthma

Tamas: the lower principle of inertia of omni substances

Tamasic: having the nature of tamas

Tarpaka: form of kapha governing brain and nerves

Teja: premordial element, fire

Tejas: mental fire

Tikta: bitter

Tikshna: form of attribute, penetrating

Trataka: steady gazing

Tridosha: The three bodily organizations -Vata (air). pitta (fire) and Kapha (water) -which govern the psychosomatic activity of daily living

Udanavata: upward moving type of vata

Upadhatu: offshoots of tissues

Upadrava: complication

Ushma: Hot

Vamana: medicated emesis

Vasa: fact of the muscles

Vasant: Spring

Vata: the dosha responsible for all movement in the body, biological air humor.

Vata vyadhi: diseases due to aggravation of vatas

Vataj: due to vata

Vayu: another name for vat

Vedas: ancient books of knowledge presenting the spiritual signs of awareness

Vipaka: metabolised part of drug, the after taste of food in the body

Virechan: Purgation

Vishesh: Special

Yakrit : Liver

Yoga: psycho physical practices aimed at self knowledge TOP



| About us | Contact us | Feedback | Advertise with us | Partners |
ай Copyright 2019 Ayurnepal Groups. All rights reserved. -- Designed By: Ayurnepal Group